Orzo Recipe #2 (How about some soup!)

Good morning! I am excited to share this recipe for soup I made yesterday. I kinda just winged it, as usual, but it turned out great! I love sorzo-lentil-souplow-cooking on Sundays. It’s a day to just take it easy and truly enjoy Sunday Funday. For this recipe I used my frozen pesto orzo I made in the last recipe (orzo, pesto, peas, cherry tomatoes) and defrosted it (probably 4-5 cups worth?). I added it to the slow cooker with low sodium veggie stock and added the following: 3 chopped garlic cloves, 1/2 cup red onion, 1 cup carrots, 1 cup zucchini, 2 cups spinach, 1 package of ready-2-eat lentils, and 2 cups of finely chopped tempeh. You can find tempeh at Meijer or Kroger next to the tofu. Tempeh is a great veggie protein to add to any dish 🙂  I let it slow cook for about 4-5 hours and it was done! It turned out great!

Here’s what went right: The pesto flavoring already in the pesto. It added a unique flavor to the soup!

What went wrong: The husband says it could use more garlic. Granted, he LOVES garlic. It had just a hint with the 3 chopped cloves I used, so I liked it. It just depends on how much you like garlic.

So there you go, a nice and hearty, heart-healthy soup! Enjoy!

Leave a comment