Catching Up

Holy moly I haven’t blogged in a month! I can’t believe how busy the last month has been, which means I haven’t been cooking too many new recipes. In the last week however, I had a fire lit in me to get cooking and creating again. Needless to say, I’ve made a bunch of fun 3-recipesstuff this last week I’d like to share.

The first is the homemade potato chips. These were the easiest! I sliced up a Japanese sweet potato and baked them in the oven about 30 minutes, or until crunchy, with a little truffle oil and salt and pepper. I must recommend trying this type of potato! It’s much like a white potato, but with a richer flavor.

The second is my homemade oatmeal bake. I tried this once before but I didn’t like how it turned out. So, I tried again and this one is good! Sorry, I didn’t measure anything out per usual. Just eye-balled it (you can get a similar recipe from cookieandkate.com, which is where I looked. You take your dry ingredients and mix together: rolled oats, baking powder, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, and chia seeds (added for some extra fiber and antioxidants!). Then mix together wet ingredients: milk (I used chocolate, you can use white), eggs, honey, vanilla extract, and olive oil. I put a bunch of walnuts in the baking pan first, added the dry ingredients, then poured the wet ingredients in. I added blueberries with some extra cinnamon and a drizzle of honey on top. Baked for 25 minutes, and bam, done! Breakfast for a week! I topped mine with plain greek yogurt every morning and it was delicious.

Last is Indian inspired. To help minimize the amount of rice, I used a few handfuls of spinach in my bowl first, then a small layer of rice, then added my Indian (I bought Korma curry sauce and simmered it in a bunch of veggies and tofu). Topped with freshly grated parmesan, and viola! Awesome dinner.

I hope you find these useful and inspirational!

Leave a Reply

