Healthy Holiday Dessert

I was looking for a healthier take on apple pie this year, and I found this recipe on baked-applesPinterest! It was so easy to make, with just a few simple ingredients. This is especially great for those wanting to avoid sugar cookie after sugar cookie, or pie after pie 🙂 All I did was take a small spoon and cored out 3 small apples. The “stuffing” is simply rolled oats, brown sugar, softened butter (I also used a little olive oil instead of all butter), cinnamon, and nutmeg. You can find the full recipe here:

http://simplefood365.com/easy-baked-stuffed-apples/

I actually did half of that recipe since I only did 3 small apples, and that was just enough to make the filling. I also left out the salt. I don’t tend to use much salt in recipes, but you could use a pinch if you wanted! Baked in the oven for about 20 minutes, and an extra little topping of cinnamon and viola! The stuffing came out just slightly crunchy, which was great with the warm, soft apples.

What went right: the crunch of the filling with the soft apple! It really was like an apple crisp.

What went wrong: nothing, other than I would use just a tiny bit of caramel topping, just for a touch of added sweetness. Not too much though, trying to keep it healthy and all 😉

Happy Holidays everyone!

Leave a Reply

