O the Weather Outside is Frightful!

quiinoa-soup

This soup turned out soooooo good! It was an indoor Sunday full of snow (8 inches, thank you very much mother nature!) and I wanted something warm to fill my tummy. This certainly did the trick. I didn’t measure anything out, but I’ll give you the list of ingredients I threw in the crock pot and you can decide from there how to make your own 🙂 I literally used any fresh veggie I had!

Here’s what’s in it: quinoa, wild rice, green and red peppers, red onions, mushrooms, banana peppers, celery, tomatoes, spinach, jalapenos, vegetable stock, as well as salt, pepper, thyme and parsley. When I served it up, I added a sprinkle of feta cheese, but you could use whatever you wanted 🙂

Here’s what went right: all the veggies! It was so filling for just a tiny bit! SO much fiber is the secret 🙂

Here’s what went wrong: I added waaaaay to much quinoa. I had to keep adding veggie stock to thin it out. I have this problem when I cook quinoa and rice but I’m working on it. I should really start measuring it out….some day I will learn!

Anywho, I hope you enjoy it! It’s a wonderfully different take on hearty soup!

 

 

Leave a Reply

