Catching Up on Cooking

The last few weeks have been terribly busy, so my blogging isn’t keeping up as much as I’d like it to. Ahhhh life…and Instagram. I blame being able to post instant pictures with fun filters for being lazy in blogging LoL ;-). JK. So I did some cooking this week, finally. Nothing major, just easy meal preps that took both like 15 minutes to make. Here are the recipes below. I hope everyone is doing well, and enjoying this unseasonably warm weather in Michigan!. 70 today and it’s mid November. Woot woot! Enjoy!

Tofu Sliders & Tuna Casserole

tofuslifers.jpg tunacasserole.jpg

Slider Ingredients:

Pretzel bun sliders

Marinated tofu ( I bought these prepackaged from Meijer) + your favorite cheese

Fresh avocado and sliced tomato

Sautéed onions and jalapeños

Side of beans and rice

  1. Sautee the onions and peppers. Then add the tofu squares, cooking for about 5-10 minutes on each side. You could marinate your own tofu in your favorite sauce, but I haven’t done it myself yet. The pre-marinated kind is all I have done so far, but I will try marinading my own sometime!
  2. Add cheese on top of the tofu, letting it melt.
  3. Place fresh avocado and sliced tomato on half of your bun.
  4. Add your cooked tofu with cheese, then top with onions and peppers.
  5. Add your favorite side! This time I did a quick beans and rice. The possibilities are endless 🙂

I like this recipe because it’s a quick and easy alternative to red meat. I have eliminated chicken, beef, and pork from my diet so I am always looking for new ways to incorporate vegetarian proteins into my meals.

Tuna Casserole Ingredients:

Homemade mac and cheese (noodles, cheese, milk)

Sautéed onions, mushrooms, tomato, and spinach

2 packages of tuna (I used Starkist sweet and savory packs)

  1. Cook your mac and cheese as you normally would. If you don’t want to make it yourself, a box of mac and cheese of your choice works!
  2. Sauté the onions, mushrooms, tomato, and spinach in a separate pan.
  3. Combine this all together, and add your tuna. Let it simmer for 5-10 minutes.
  4. Add more cheese if you like.
  5. Top with avocado it you like…I did 🙂

I like this second recipe a lot because it saves on so much sodium from the boxed tuna helper, and gives you fresh veggies with avocado! Bam. Your own tuna skillet!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

