My Original Refreshing Spaghetti Squash!

squashIt’s been a while since I shared, but August was a busy month! Lot’s of things happening with working and starting a new job, and of course finally becoming a Registered Dietitian! So this is my first official blog as an RD 🙂 WOOT WOOT! It feels great to finally get to this point, and it is my hope to keep sharing this foodie blog as a creative outlet as I grow and learn just where I fit in to the nutrition world 🙂

I wanted to share this recipe I came up with a little while back while I experimented with spaghetti squash. I tried cooking it once before with just olive oil, but it tasted bland and altogether blah. I wasn’t ready to give up though. I tried again and I found a winner the second time around!

For this new recipe, I did use olive oil again, but I decided to jazz it up a bit with some fresh diced tomatoes, basil, garlic, and salt and pepper. It really turned out great! If you’ve never tried spaghetti squash, this might be a good way to try it! Just cut the squash in half, give it a coat of olive oil, lay face down on a cookie sheet on tin foil and bake on 375 for about 30-40 minutes. Once done, you can just scrape the inside of the squash out into a bowl, and toss in about 2 cups of diced tomatoes, a few leaves of fresh chopped basil, 1 clove of fresh chopped garlic, about 2 tablespoons of olive oil, and salt and pepper to taste. Viola! You’ve got a yummy, refreshing side dish on your hands 🙂

Now to share the nutrition part! For 1 cup of this yummy side dish, it’s only about 100 calories (depends on how much olive oil you decide to use, so don’t go crazy on it 🙂 ). Spaghetti squash is great for low carbs (only 10 g per cup!) and fiber, and with the olive oil it makes it a good source of heart-healthy monounsaturated fat! Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

