Improvising in the Kitchen…and in Life

So I wanted to start this post with some inspiration. Why? Cause why n25222af05d230a66a988e3c8d6f28c8bot. Life hopefully inspires you as it does me. The ups and the downs, I’m inspired daily to move forward, but to enjoy the ride as I go. I really like this one quote that I found. Improvising has been a good friend of mine over the last 4 years or so. I haven’t had a clear plan at all times, but I know as long as I’m walking in faith, I’m gonna be okay. So there. You’re inspiration for the week 🙂

So now moving on to this week’s recipe…which most certainly revolves around improvising! So I was looking for a new recipe, and found a stuffed southwestern squash concoction that peaked my interest. It was more tex-mex (rice and black beans) stuffed in squash, but I tweaked it with what I had handy.  I made a whole lot of barley this week, so I ended up using the leftovers instead of rice, along with red beans instead of black beans (again, what I had on-hand). Here’s a picture of how it IMG_2196turned out!
<—–

Here’s what I did. First, I cut a butternut squash in half, scooped out the seeds, salted the bottom and added a little olive oil and baked on 350 for about an hour on tin foil.

While that was baking, I combined some cooked barley, red beans, red onions, mushrooms, spinach and cheese and warmed it on the stove top for maybe 15 minutes.

Once the squash was done, I scooped out the insides and filled them with my barley and bean mixture, and topping with cheese! I baked for another 10 minutes to melt the cheese and boom! It’s what I call stuffed squash surprise, because all the ingredients are pretty surprising thanks to my fabulous improvising skills 🙂 Who wants rice and beans all the time anyway?! This is a nice change of pace 🙂

That’s it for this week…enjoy!….Don’t forget to improvise this week….just once 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Improvising in the Kitchen…and in Life”

Leave a Reply

