Beets? Yes Please!

I found a new food to try out this week…beets! Those wonderfully, yuIMG_3154mmy…..ummm wait. Beets? Wonderfully yummy?! You bet!

I’ve only ever had pickled beets, and let me tell you…no thanks. I can get behind lots of different foods, but pickle anything and I just….can’t. Ick 😦 Buuuuuut I found a way that I really like them, and maybe you can too!

It’s quit simple really! I bought just 1 beet and let it thoroughly ripen on the counter for a few days. Then I cut the outside skin off, and chunked it up. Drizzled just a little olive oil, with a dash of salt and pepper, then roasted it in the oven for 20-25 minutes in a little tinfoil wrap. I let it cool, and sprinkled some goat cheese on top. That’s it. Nothing fancy….but AMAZING! It tasted sooooo good. A little sweet, roasted flavor of the beet, with a creamy savory flavor of the cheese…and it’s ummmm…AMAZING! Try for yourself and see!

P.S. Beets are great for you! Only 59 calories per CUP and a great source of folate, manganese and potassium. Beets also contain phytonutrients known as betalains. Tongue twister huh? Yeah….just know they are these awesome things that have antioxidant, anti-inflammatory, and detoxification properties! Woot Woot!

Time to BEET IT 🙂

One thought on “Beets? Yes Please!”

Leave a Reply

