Colorful Cabbage!

Let’s get to cooking!IMG_1980

I bought a head of red cabbage over the weekend because a. it looked so darn pretty! and b. I’ve never actually cut up and used red cabbage in a recipe before. So I thought hey, let’s give it a try!

Now, let’s be clear…I generally DON’T follow recipes. Why? I find recipes restrictive, because I usually don’t have what’s on there and then the whole ordeal of having to go to the store to collect specific ingredients for one thing….yeah I hate that. So, I generally look up recipes, decide what I have and what I don’t, and improvise from there with what I can find around the kitchen. If I buy a new ingredient, it’s because I saw it at the market and it looked intriguing enough to try, and then I happen to have it for later use 🙂

Now don’t jump to conclusions…I’m not bashing the use of recipes! They are a GREAT tool. I just find they don’t work great for me most of the time! Having said that, I did follow a recipe for this apple, kale, and cabbage salad I found on Pinterest. I made the dressing to go with it and it turned out AMAZING. I added raisins instead of cranberries, and it’s just as good.

Now let’s not forget the nutrition part…cabbage is awesome! It is an EXCELLENT source of potassium, vitamin A, vitamin C, and vitamin B6. All very important micronutrients and phytonutrients for health and cancer prevention! Cabbage is also a great source of dietary fiber, which can help keep you fuller, longer.

Finally, yes, I also find it ironic that I am providing recipes on this blog…but hey, I want this to work for YOU and be inspirational for you…not me 🙂

Recipe courtesy: zagleft.com

Ingredients

Vegetarian, Gluten free, Paleo

Produce

1 Apple, large

2 Carrots, large

1 cup Craisins blueberries or other dried fruit

2 cups Kale, raw

1/2 head Red cabbage

Condiments

1 tbsp Honey

1 tbsp Lemon juice

Baking & Spices

1 pinch Black pepper

1/8 tsp Salt

Oils & Vinegars

4 tsp Apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp Olive oil, extra virgin

Nuts & Seeds

1 cup Almonds

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the apple cider vinegar, olive oil, honey, salt and pepper. Set aside.
  2. Place the chopped carrots, cabbage, kale and apples in a large bowl.
  3. Mix in the lemon juice.
  4. Add the almonds and dried blueberries.
  5. Pour the vinaigrette over the top and toss.
Leave a Reply

