Zoupa!

So I took a leap of faith and made my first homemade soup this week! You might think I would pick potato, but I ventured into old woman territory and tried my hand at ham and bean! I found a wonderful bag if mixed beans at Horrocks and it inspired me to try something new! Here is how I made it, from stuff I had around the house on my own (no recipe to follow!). I am pretty pleased with the results 🙂 This picture was before the beans were all the way done, so it did thicken up a bit the next day. It made quit a bit so feel free to scale back the numbers for a smaller amount. Enjoy!

IMG_0476

1 canister vegetable stock

2 cups diced ham

1 bag of mixed soup beans (soaked for about an hour before hand)

1/2 cup diced red onion

3 large diced carrots

1 handful of diced cilantro

Combine all ingredients into a slow cooker, and let cook until beans are tender (took about 6 hours)

Leave a Reply

