Moving Beyond the Pain…and Seeing the Light!

Seeing the face of a new precious life really inspired me today. I was feeling pretty down in the dumps yesterday and today, remembering our peanut so close to my birthday and thinking just how “pregnant” I should be right now. It hurts. It really does. Time does not seem to be healing my wounds in this case. I know it’s still new and fresh and it will feel like that for a while, but it feels like it just happened yesterday.

And then today I held baby Isabella in my arms. I wasn’t sure I could handle it, but her face melted away my pain and anger. How could I be mad when this little miracle is in my arms? What amazing parents our friends will be to this little slice of Heaven. This is what we get to look forward to, someday when God is ready for it. It still hurts, but it gives me hope.

So in honor of baby Isabella, here is a yummy recipe I found that throws back to her awesome Mayan heritage!

MAYAN CRAVING TREATS:

Spiced Mayan Pineapple Cubes

For a refreshing healthy treat, with a zesty flavor, Maya families enjoy this recipe filled with vitamins and natural carbohydrates to bring energy to a tired body.  Buy, if you can, an organic fresh pineapple that is ripped but with a firm flesh!  Best when chilled for a few hours prior to enjoying its immune system busting value:

Ingredients:

One large ripe organic pineapple peeled and cubed (check flesh is firm but sweet)

1/3 cup of fresh peppermint leaves chopped (or mint leaves)

Pinch of cinnamon powder
Pinch of crushed sea salt

Pinch of Chile Piquin (use cayenne powder as a substitute)

1/2 tea spoon of pure honey

Crush 4 whole cloves to mix with sugar and cinnamon

How to Prepare:

Place all ingredients in a chilled clay bowl (crystal bowl will do) and gently mix them to cover the pineapple chunk; cover treat cubes and refrigerate them.  Eat each as mini-cube treat snacks; if you please, add few drops of Don Julio Tequila to the mix for adult treats only.

You can find more here:

http://www.yucatanadventure.com.mx/cookingrecipes.htm#MAYAN_CRAVING_TREATS:

Leave a Reply

