Freaky Friday!

Okay I took a few days off to focus on studying this week. Not that it helped much, because I am not confident on today’s test and Monday’s test went….not great. So needless to say I felt a little defeated this afternoon heading into volunteering.

Then I had an amazing conversation with the pediatric dietitian I am working with. She put it all into perspective for me. Yes, this semester is tough. There’s no denying it, but the outcome is so worth it. Will I maintain that perfect 4.0 I am striving for? Maybe, maybe not. But STOP stressing about it! I love the path that I am on, and I meant to be here for a reason. No one in life is perfect and I can’t expect myself to be either. I know I studied my butt off this week, and it may not have turned out as I want, but all I can do is keep moving forward.

Ok! Now that is off my chest…..it’s Friday! Woohoo! Time to kick back and relax! Okay not so much, but it sure is time to enjoy some good food! Here is a great recipe for avocado fries I found on Pinterest! I LOVE avocados and I’ve tried these before and they are delish! Enjoy! Don’t forget to smile and laugh this weekend too! Your soul will thank you ­čÖé

BAKED AVOCADO FRIES

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup flour
  • 1 tsp kosher salt
  • 2 large eggs, beaten
  • 1 1/4 cups panko (Japanese bread crumbs)
  • 2 firm-ripe medium avocados, pitted, peeled, and sliced into 1/2-in. wedges
  • Grated parmesan for serving (optional) Mary Note: Not optional in my opinion.

Instructions:

Preheat oven to 450.

Coat avocado slices in the four, then egg, then panko. Spread on a cooling rack that has been sprayed with non-stick spray, then place on a cookie sheet.  Spray the top of the wedges with olive oil and sprinkle with salt, then bake for about 20 minutes at 450, or until they are golden brown.

Leave a Reply

